Lauren Sauder
Viewfinder
foundation
2
0:00
-22:51

foundation

rooting in identity and process
2

A foundation is defined as an underlying basis or principle. It can also mean a justification or reason. And my favorite definition is the lowest load-bearing part of a building, typically below ground level.

When I first graduated with my BFA becoming an artist seemed so flashy. Work for myself, make what I wanted, and sell it. Yet, the truth is, all of that requires so much more—and I forgot to consider myself. My human self.

I think there is incredible value in learning from other people and trying new things out

AND

I think it’s equally important to know myself and the motivations behind why I am trying something. I have to know damn well that I am considering my motivations.

Appointing a foundation establishes a place to root my creative identity and practice. It also helps support and guide my process as I grow and develop artistically.

viewfinder is a listener-supported podcast. To receive new episodes and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Reflections

Exploring my foundation; I am going to share my creative values here. Please take these as examples only. I never want to plant ideas that aren’t yours, or share blueprints for one way of doing it. But I also am aware of how beneficial examples can be. To understand what roots a value and how you can use it as a tool. And I believe in knowing my truths and sharing what has worked for me.

  • Curiosity

  • Process

  • Intention/Reflection

  • Multi-disciplinary

Resources

  • Viewfinder, an audio class that literally and metaphorically explores the paper viewfinder as a tool to find your creative practice foundations

  • Artist mentorship, month-to-month mentorship to explore your foundation together

  • Building the House, Mary Oliver (download the essay from the artist's mixtape)

Connect

If we haven’t had the pleasure of meeting - I’m Lauren Sauder, an artist, writer, and mentor. If you enjoyed this episode, please consider writing a review. Here are a few more ways you can connect with me:

Leave a comment

Share

2 Comments
Lauren Sauder
Viewfinder
This podcast is a body of work—a collection of words distilled from looking through my viewfinder. Each episode explores the meaning of different concepts, themes, ideas, and subjects floating around in the liminal spaces of my creative practice.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lauren Sauder
Recent Episodes