Lauren Sauder
Viewfinder
thresholds
4
0:00
-13:41

thresholds

Embracing the outset and transitions as a moment of beauty
4

Threshold by definition is a point of departure and transition. A place or point of entering a beginning. The outset. It can also mean your limit or boundary.

Two weeks ago, I released a new class called Process Class. Process class was an idea I had in December of last year. I gathered my notes and continued to collect new research as I filled out this creative form. I’m always quick to act on new ideas, and I find it quite easy to be in the gathering stage.

I then went idle. I couldn’t decide between creating the class as a prerecorded experience or a live one. I worked through the decision (something I will probably talk about in a later episode), recorded the class, and released it for sale.

Check, mark, done.

But then I was met with many feelings - proud, excited, tired, nervous, anxious, restless, avoidance - I wanted to close the chapter and have the next one waiting for me.

The truth is, I don’t quite have the next one waiting for me. Sure, I have projects I am working on that feel ongoing - a body of work about atmospheres, and daily writing, but nothing that felt like a sure start, end, and middle.

And I began to think - I have to quickly move onto my next idea.

Yet - my next idea isn’t ready yet. It’s still incubating. I am still reflecting on what I want from it and if it’s really for me.

I realized I am in a threshold. I am in between. And this place can be beautiful, too.

viewfinder is a listener-supported podcast. To receive new episodes and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Reflections

  • I can look at thresholds as an in-between moment, much like I look at the beauty of in-between moments in daily life.

  • I need to move through thresholds to make my creative process dynamic.

  • I have to sustain my mindset.

Resources

Connect

If we haven’t had the pleasure of meeting - I’m Lauren Sauder, an artist, writer, and mentor. If you enjoyed this episode, please consider writing a review. Here are a few more ways you can connect with me:

Leave a comment

Share

4 Comments
Lauren Sauder
Viewfinder
This podcast is a body of work—a collection of words distilled from looking through my viewfinder. Each episode explores the meaning of different concepts, themes, ideas, and subjects floating around in the liminal spaces of my creative practice.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lauren Sauder
Recent Episodes